My impressions as a total noob after about 2 months (season 0)

General discussions concerning the world of Requiem and the community.
Losstarot
Character: Kalisto Krauss

My impressions as a total noob after about 2 months (season 0)

Post by Losstarot » May 20th, 2021, 4:30 pm

I joined Requiem about 2 months ago as a total virgin to the mechanics and lore. Figured I'd give my feedback on my experience thus far, for both staff and new players alike, who may be interested in a personal opinion.

- First, let me say I was very resistent to come here, despite being invited countless times since Act 5 (looking at you verakke). The reason for my resistance: when checking the site and the systems, at a first glance everything looked way more complicated than what I was used to in other shards, and I felt a bit intimidated to have to learn a whole new system from scratch.

- Since then, I changed my mind. The system is, in fact, much simpler than it looks on the site, which was a surprise when I finally joined here for Act 6. Like all new things, it took some time to learn and get used to, but to be fair it was a very short time, in a day or two I had grasped the system well enough that I felt confident to continue playing.

- When writing my app, I felt that the amount of reading required was a bit overwhelming. The summary of the story looked a bit too cryptic and it felt like it wasn't enough to understand the world I was going into. The rest of the information seemed a bit scattered and some of them, as I was told later, are outdated. To me, as a new player, it was somewhat difficult finding the information I needed and to make connections with the current act.

- The community was absolutely wonderful in my learning process, answering my hundreds of questions in the help channel, which helped me a lot in coming up with a character's build to satisfy my playstyle.