Some thoughts on combat

For issues concerning melee or ranged combat (non-magic).
Lilith
Character: Lilean

Some thoughts on combat

Post by Lilith » July 15th, 2021, 3:32 pm

1. Throwing seems fun to play with, although the weapon going to inventory is pretty obnoxious sometimes. Could there be a feat to enable throwers to "fail catching" the weapon less or, alternative a command that make it possible to disable character trying to throw into melee combat?

2. Bleed attack on swords is hyuuuuge! The difference in transitioning from wrestling to SMS was like switching between day and night. Getting an extra +50 damage (sum of all bleed ticks) or more as a special weapon move in a fast weapon such as cutlass makes sure that even an undergeared warrior with low skill and dish out reliable damage on the strongest of opponents. It felt like I was hitting a brick walls with my claws. Maybe the bleed attack could be available for some other weapon types too? I'm not an expert when it comes to end-game character set-ups, but in early- to mid-game SMS seems to overshadow other weapon types hard.

3. Heavy armors - The only ways I can justify myself not to use them is that I can't stealth in them or they're just not available enough on the market. I feel like the HP+ they give alone is strong enough reason to favour them over lighter armour types, but on top of that the extra resistance they give is just so good. It doesn't much to realise how large of a difference does it make to run around in around 60% resistances instead of 40%. Not only is the HP pool easier to keep up with healing, but the pool is larger to begin with. I feel like the plate armour could do even without the extra HP-boost.

The Broken Sword
Character: Alaric

Re: Some thoughts on combat

Post by The Broken Sword » July 16th, 2021, 12:53 am